ACLU California Action Recognizes Leading Civil Liberties Champions in Fifth Annual Legislative Scorecard

Sacramento – Today, ACLU California Action released its fifth annual legislative scorecard. The scorecard looks different this year. In honor of its five-year anniversary, and to ensure we acknowledge the voting record of our departing legislative champions, the 2023 scorecard highlights every lawmaker’s voting record over the last five years. Lawmakers are designated champions when they score 100 percent on legislation officially sponsored or prioritized by ACLU California Action. 

“We are proud to use our 2023 scorecard to uplift legislators who have stood out as committed champions for civil rights in our state,” said Carmen-Nicole Cox, Director of Government Affairs for ACLU California Action. “It is important to acknowledge elected officials who are unwavering in their support for equity, justice, and freedom even when those votes are difficult and when they may face political pressures to cave to special interests. Lawmakers who consistently champion the most consequential civil rights and civil liberties issues impacting Californians deserve special recognition.”

ACLU California Action weighs in on hundreds of bills each year, from the criminal legal system to privacy to voting rights. Legislators who scored 100 percent at least twice since 2019 are listed below. ACLU California Action thanks all of our champions, this year, the organization is spotlighting multi-year champions. 

To see the full scorecard, visit:

Five-Year Civil Liberties Champions
Senator Steven Bradford (Gardena)
Senator Nancy Skinner (Berkeley)
Senator Scott Wiener (San Francisco)
Assemblymember Ash Kalra (San José)

Four-Year Civil Liberties Champions
Assemblymember Buffy Wicks (Oakland)

Three-Year Civil Liberties Champions
Senator Maria Elena Durazo (Los Angeles)
Assemblymember Alex Lee (San José)

Two-Year Civil Liberties Champions
Senator Toni Atkins (San Diego)
Senator Josh Becker (Menlo Park)
Senator Dave Cortese (San José)
Senator Lena Gonzalez (Long Beach)
Assemblymember Rebecca Bauer-Kahan (Orinda)
Assemblymember Marc Berman (Menlo Park)
Assemblymember Mia Bonta (Oakland)
Assemblymember Isaac Bryan (Los Angeles)
Assemblymember Wendy Carrillo (Los Angeles)
Assemblymember Mike Fong (Arcadia)
Assemblymember Laura Friedman (Glendale)
Assemblymember Jesse Gabriel (Encino)
Assemblymember Matt Haney (San Francisco)
Assemblymember Chris Holden (Pasadena)
Assemblymember Reginald Jones-Sawyer (Los Angeles)
Assemblymember Evan Low (Campbell)
Assemblymember Anthony Rendon (Lakewood)
Assemblymember Eloise Reyes (Grand Terrace)
Assemblymember Robert Rivas (Hollister)
Assemblymember Miguel Santiago (Los Angeles)
Assemblymember Phil Ting (San Francisco)
Assemblymember Christopher Ward (San Diego)
Assemblymember Akilah Weber (San Diego)
Assemblymember Lori Wilson (Fairfield)

Informed voting is essential to a healthy democracy. ACLU California Action encourages residents to use the updated scorecard website to educate themselves and their neighbors on candidates’ voting records and to go to the polls to vote for their values. 

For media inquiries or interview requests, please contact: [email protected].


ACLU California Action is a 501(c)(4) organization jointly formed by the ACLU affiliates in California. We are nonpartisan and do not endorse or oppose candidates for elected office, nor do we make financial contributions to candidates. Our mission is to protect civil liberties and civil rights, advance equity, justice, and freedom, and dismantle systems rooted in oppression and discrimination. The organization uses rigorous policy analysis, advocacy, and strategic communications to achieve policy change on a statewide level. We advance this work through collaboration with organizations that have members directly impacted by policy decisions in Sacramento. Beyond legislation, ACLU California Action aims to build enhanced political power and influence for the ACLU and our collective movements statewide. For more, visit